the leading technical body for Graphics Communication
the leading technical body for Graphics Communication





The LIA Award programs are based on an ongoing two year cycle which commences with the presentation of awards in each state, every year. At the end of a two year cycle the National Awards are presented at the LIA’s Biennial Conference.



The LIA – Heidelberg Graduate of the Year Award (Presented yearly in each State)



This is the longest running continuous award of the Institute, dating back to 1972, when it was known as the LIA Apprentice of the Year - Sponsored by Seligson and Clare, then the Heidelberg agents in Australia. This award is presented annually in each mainland state at special award presentation dinners. Heidelberg provides handsome award plaques to the winners and certificates to the employer.


The winning graduate in each state is chosen by a highly qualified judging panel of LIA members. The candidates are put forward by TAFE teaching staff as the ‘pick of the bunch’ in their particular stream. There are usually four to eight such candidates in each state, generally covering the spectrum of the printing trades.


Every two years Heidelberg funds the air fares and accommodation of the winning state graduates to the LIA’s Biennial conference. There, apart from active participation in the conference program, they are individually interviewed by a national judging panel of eminent industry leaders and a winner is selected to receive the GAMAA – LIA National Graduate Scholarship Prize.



The VISUAL CONNECTIONS – LIA National Graduate Scholarship Prize (Presented Biennially)



A condition of acceptance of this prize is, that the money must be used in the furtherance of the winner’s education. The announcement of the winner and the presentation of the Prize is the highlight presentation at the gala dinner.


There are up to ten graduates vying for the $15,000 prize, comprising the winning state graduates from the current and previous year. Without exception, when they come together, their spirit and enthusiasm is infectious.. They are hosted by major printing companies, who provide informative plant tours and hospitality, they get to know each other and in some cases form lasting friendships.



The LIA – Printing Industries Future Leaders Award (Presented Biennially)



The judges are also charged with the selection of a graduate from the group who they believe, has the potential to become an outstanding contributor to the industry. The winner will have exhibited a set of specific characteristics, which in the judges opinion indicates that with further development and application, he or she, could become a future industry leader. The Award provides the winner with an all expenses paid visit to DRUPA or IPEX in the year following the presentation of the award. This award is the newest of our Graduate Programs, inaugurated in 2005 as the LIA - Proprint Future Leaders Award.



The Biennial GAMAA-LIA National Graduate Scholarship Prize



The Biennial GAMAA-LIA National Graduate Scholarship Prize was presented on Saturday 19th November 2011 during a Gala Dinner at Hilton Hotel, Brisbane. LIA-Heidelberg Graduate of the Year state winners from Western Australia, South Australia, Victoria, Queensland and New South Wales during 2010 and 2011 contended this valuable prize to advance their industry education and career. The GAMAA-LIA Graduate Scholarship Prize was awarded to Robert Wilson of Detmold Packaging, Adelaide South Australia and the LIA-Printing Industries Future Leaders Award was awarded to Scott Mohammed of Sony DADC, Sydney New South Wales.